top of page

End-Term Project


Pre-work

Following FVL-2, a detailed study of the visual elements of my assigned form, Papaya, we worked on a 3D replica of it's half-cut.

Since we were asked to avoid the use of any color medium, I only used material that could contribute to the color of a papaya.

  • Pulping - The outer surface of the model is made of yellow and orange crepe paper pulp. I had mixed these two to create a balanced color for my form.

  • Pastel Sheet - For the slice, I've used a red pastel sheet. To add more essence to it I used soft pastel on the edges.

  • Cotton - The inner skin of the papaya is a thin, fibrous and hairy surface. I used dry pastel on cotton for the color and twisted it to make it look hairy.


Form Analysis 1

With this study of the form, I didn't focus a lot on the colored representation, but the form's structure, geometry and texture. I used soft pastel since I hadn't practiced a half-cut composition with the medium, and felt like it could give more feel to the slice and skin of the Papaya.


This analysis furnished me with a detailed knowledge of the structure and arrangement. I also studied the seed, which I had missed in FVL-2.


Points acquired:

  • Papaya has 5 veins on the inside, travelling from the stem to the opposite end.

  • There is a pattern and geometry in which the hairs on the inner skin grow.

  • The seeds grow from the opposite end towards the stem.

Form Analysis 2

In the first model, I demonstrated the structure of the papaya using soft thick wire. The wires represents the 5 veins present in the papaya, understanding how they contribute to the contour. The second model shows a compilation of the vertical slices of the form through intersecting planes. It captured the hollowness of the inside and the contour.


This helped me understand how different elements of the form contribute to its structure and contour.


Idea Generation


This stage of the project was a hard one for me. I struggled to get Gestalt's principles and my form's essence together in the explorations. The initial attempts were more focused on following the principles, and therefore do not convey the true character of a Papaya.




To detach from these ideas, I explored with materials and referred back to my analysis sheet. It eventually helped me gain my connection with the form. I later added better ideas to my 2D explorations.


Idea Development

With new additions to my idea generation, I felt more confident moving to the next stage. I iterated with each of my ideas, trying addition into it, applying the same idea to a different section of the form to get the best representation.


Outcomes:

Exploring Color

For this stage, I added color to my 2D outcomes and explored the background colors. The idea was to have a background the shares the essence of Papaya but also challenges the drawing.

Exploring Space

To reach a final colored outcome, we moved to digital platform. I worked on illustrator since I feel I have become familiar with it, and would provide me a smooth process. Extracting the colors into the software was a bit of a struggle since it often seemed dull so I had to use some instincts to get the correct color.


Outcomes:



bottom of page