top of page

Capstone: Phase 1


This is a record of my experience and learnings from the Capstone Module: Phase 1.


Sketching

This phase involved tasks that would get my mind more conscious about my subject; the human body. It began with quick sketches which required me to observe different bodies and get familiar with the proportions and postures of the body.


When I had started sketching objects for DDD, my first lesson was to manage time, and that understanding helped me in completing the sketches in time. I didn't had to struggle to achieve the goal and produced good outcomes.


Journal

This was the first time I had actually made effective use of my journal. Online classes had got me used to Miro, so much that I didn't really require a journal. With this project, I noted some advantages:

  • It allows me to note down and sketch visuals at the same time.

  • I don't have to bother about visual tools or choosing a layout to note down information, therefore I feel more free while gathering information at a primary stage in the journal.

  • The notes helped me remember the process I followed better.

  • I wasn't worried about making mistakes since I knew it's not the final display of my work

These points helped me understand the importance of using a journal.


Learnings

  • The position you sketch in also impacts the drawings.

  • Working on a sheet in perspective view can mess with the proportions of the body. It is important to ensure a flat and equal view of the surface.

  • Draw a stick figure to begin with a body, it helps maintain the proportion within the composition.

  • Oil pastel sticks can be a better choice than charcoal. It's less soft, and therefore creates bold and clear lines. It sticks well to the paper, creating little mess in comparison to Charcoal.

bottom of page