top of page

LJL: FVL-2


Introduction

The project bridged our learning from FVL-1 where we applied our knowledge of visual elements to represent a real form through careful observation.


Observation & Representation

Within these 2 weeks, I understood how representing an object requires detailed observation of every element that contributes to it's identity. These element convey the 3 dimensionality of a 2D composition.


Light & Shadow - This can be represented through tonal variation or tints and shades of the form. It communicates the placement of the object, it's depth and dimensions.


Contour - The outline of the form is a crucial element to its identity. Even a little distortion of the contour can give the form a different identity.


Color - An essential tool for visual communication, color can instantly convey the identity of the object through a composition. Working with the right tints, shades and hue can give a more detailed idea of the form's identity.


Texture and surface - The accurate representation of the skin, inner and outer surface of the object also adds great emphasis to it's identity. Example, the inside of the papaya is fibrous and has a hairy skin, while the slice is a smooth juicy surface.


Visual Media

To achieve the most appropriate representation, we tried a variety of mediums. Every medium has it's own strengths and barriers that add to it's potential. Gaining knowledge of these points equips me with the skills to identify the right medium for any form that I might work on in the future.


Below is a comparative analysis of two different mediums:

Conclusion

  • As a keen observer, studying the form of a fruit was an interesting journey for me. Though in the beginning I struggled in capturing it's contour. I found my fruit very simple, with no particular distinction in it's shape to make it easy to identify.

  • I often struggle with materials, and had a hard time in getting the right contour out of glaze paper.

  • Later, I tried it with a larger scale and the outcomes I achieved were a lot better, and I could see my fruit in it.


Learnings

  • To capture the true essence of a form, you must observe it with every stroke.

  • A large scale composition allows a lot more room to represent minute details and structure.

  • Color may be the most visible element of a form, but it's not the only element that can capture the identity of a form in a composition.


I was able to connect with my assigned form for most of my work, except it's contour. Identifying all the contour drawings of the papaya was a hard task, and making it ouT of glaze paper is what my least effective work has been. The change in the contour drawings have minute changes, therefore scaling up helped me capture a better composition out of glaze paper.

bottom of page