top of page

LJL: F2F


Introduction

In this project, the activities added to our understanding of different forms and their structure, through material and techniques. We began with simple forms, the variations one can achieve through subtraction and addition, to combining multiple forms.


Understanding Form & Space

I had heard of organic shapes in FVL-1 and through this project, I was able to connect forms to the organic shapes present in the environment.


Demonstration

Through the activities I learned how using multiple forms together can turn into a formation. Below I have picked up 2 objects and demonstrated them as a formation of forms.


Object 1 - Headphones

I perceived the headband as a half cut of a hollow cylinder with an inch of height. Adding to both it's ends is a cylinder with edge subtraction to make it a little smooth. Topping it is another solid cylinder with a smaller cylinder subtracted from its center.


Object 2 - Clock

The form comes together with a big cylinder of small height and two solid cylindrical poles through it. On the upper ends of these poles adds a half cut of a hollow sphere on each. The lower ends are attached to a solid sphere each. The initial cylinder is topped with another cylinder with hollow ends and little height.


The Perception of Forms


I've always thought of forms as rigid, whether it's a cube, a cylinder or a sphere. Having it's specific sides and faces; a form didn't have any variations. But when I explored these forms in these 2 weeks, my perception of forms evolved. Observing how a simple form turns interesting as we play with it's faces, edges and so on.


The first time I was introduced to these forms was through mathematics, as a 3D object with it's dimensions, volume and area. Now in a design environment, I think of them as visual elements that can be represented and built in different ways. It doesn't seem rigid anymore.


Through the project, I was introduced to another intriguing concept, Platonic forms. I wanted to experiment with these forms and see how the forms evolve if we play with their faces, which gave way to my final outcome.


Plaster of Paris - A guide


  • Working with POP can be very messy, thus always wear apron and gloves to avoid getting stains.



  • Mixing a large amount of water and POP at once may produce lumps in the mixture. Start with mixing small amounts to gain a smooth and floppy mixture.



  • The quantity of the mixture should be measured. Making another mixture after pouring in the mold would not be suitable, as the first mixture might turn solid thus resulting in two separate parts out of the mold.


  • While creating the mixture, keep stirring it with your hand, and clenching your fingers into a fist in repetition. This will help in opening up lumps.


  • Do a water test to be sure of any unwanted leakage. This will give you a chance to fill the cracks with Fevibond, since discovering such cracks when pouring POP can not be fixed, and will lead to failure.



  • As you pour the mixture in the mold, tap it multiple times to ensure that the POP fills all the space, or the outcome may turn out hollow at some points.



Conclusion

Since this was my first experience working in the studio, my focus on work was a bit less because of the new environment.


For the first few days, I struggled in having a number of explorations since I didn't feel very motivated. My focus was all around the class, and less on my curiosity for forms. Following 2-3 sessions, I felt a lot more comfortable and was more productive as I started challenging myself to try new concept and ideas.


Learnings:

  • I discovered new ways to use materials like Adhesives and Sunboard, since I was able to view my mentors work and guide me.

  • It is essential to plan out and record the desired measurements to prevent failed outcomes.

  • When working with POP, it's always better to have excess mixture than facing a shortage.

  • Organic shapes are a formation of regular forms that have been manipulated.


The entire process got me used to a new set of materials and process. I specifically enjoyed working on the mold for POP, though the final outcome out of it didn't turn out well. It was a hard task, but planning it out before the preparations helped a lot.


bottom of page