top of page

Activity 7: Thinking tools


Introduction

With this activity, we practiced 5 different Thinking tools. These tools guide one to explore the many possibilities that exists for a better outcome. They ensure that the ideas are productive and serve a function since they often start with a problem.


Main Activity


Slice and Dice

Through this tool, we list down all the attributes of the product within categories. This helps in gaining a fair idea of the appearance, process, raw material, and perceptions that are associated with the object.

S.C.A.M.P.E.R

The word contains 7 methods that guide one's mind to every corner in the sea of possibilities. The methods push me to imagine the object in a lot more settings, multiple functions, play with it's components, different shape and scale.

Home Task


Circle of Opportunity

For practicing this tool, I chose sharpener as my object. With the first roll (Multiple uses, Red), I thought of sharpeners with erasers which is already a product in the market, but then wondered if the sharpener could also serve as a stapler.


I did another roll (Unique look, scale) for the dices and decided to increase the scale of the sharpener to fit to one's palm. Usually, the sides of the sharpener are curved inside to make it easier to hold with fingers. But with the increased scale it didn't seem very appropriate. While brainstorming, I imagined holding a ball in my palm, and therefore decided that if the the sides are convex it might fit with the scale and that also gives it a more unique look.


Cross-breeding



For this tool, I chose Glue and Tape as my objects. Both the products are used to stick, and therefore could be a good combination. The idea I got was to combine the two through a stick.


I struggled with imagining how I could have the tape in the new product.







Idea Box

My object for the application of this tool was a pair of scissors. We often struggle with getting it through the metro stations, and it often causes pain in fingers after some laborious use. The challenges I selected:

  1. Make it less dangerous.

  2. Make the handle comfortable for a long working period.


Reflection

  • The tools allow me to work smart, as it gives a fair idea of the ways that can lead to potential outcomes instead of brainstorming without much direction.

  • Working with the tools, I've observed that each possibilities has a specific challenge to overcome, and therefore all the ideas are very unique. Each of the methods give a specific approach to get more ideas.

  • These tools have become like an equipment for me to deal with creative blocks and come up with effective ideas.


Learning Mantra of the Day

Train your mind to travel through the depths of the sea of possibilities.


bottom of page