top of page

Activity 2 - Altering Perception 2

Introduction

The concept of today's activity was the scale and context of an object. The scale or size can be used as a tool to alter the context and perception of an object. The context of an object refers to the environment and the function it serves. The scale refers to the size of an object with a set proportion.

Warm up activity We were shown different objects like a traffic cone, fidget spinner and an ice cream cone, and how they are used in different settings with a change in scale of the object. I tried to give a new function to these objects as well.


Main Activity

I worked in a group of 5, each presenting 2 ideas. We chose a sharpener, and I enlarged it's scale to give it a different context. 1. Flower Vase - I increased the size of the sharpener, and added flowers in the conical hole used to insert the pencil.

2. Stool - Increase the size of the sharpener, and the curve on it's side can be used for sitting. I added a drawer in place of the blade.


Reflection

  • This activity made me realize how changing a single aspect of an object can open it to more opportunities and uses.

  • Just changing the scale of it can give the object a fresh purpose.

  • It was a fun activity and I think I was able to come up with good ideas.

Learning Mantra of the Day

Change the ordinary, make it unusual

bottom of page