top of page

Tools of Design: Project Documentation



Through mediums that play a role in real world, we explore the composition, using elements as a tool to communicate the visual effectively and create an emphasis towards the meaning behind.

 

To contextualize the composition we were to explore, I chose the city, Meerut, my hometown in Uttar Pradesh. With a selected number of keywords, I started scribbling all the ideas that stormed in my mind onto the paper.

When I started working on Expressive Type, the only tool I could identify was type, and my tutor had pointed out how I need to use the space. And I had become conscious of another tool. It all added up more meaning into the forms and conveyed the expression cleverly.




With Type as Image posters, I began with using my notes and sketching my ideas focusing on the techniques. Although the posters didn't seem very interesting, I learned to apply the techniques well.

It was peer-learning that really helped me generate interesting ideas. With the tutors review on a number of posters, I was able to identify where I needed to work. While techniques can make type an effective way of communication, it invites a lot more eyes if it is composed in a thoughtful manner. I began using elements from my research to add more meaning into the poster, and used clever ways to draw emphasis into my composition.




Each task taught us some techniques. Subtraction, addition and juxtaposition were introduced to create postcards for the location. Initially I had trouble in understanding the application of juxtaposition, but as I kept iterating and adding elements to my ideas, I eventually learned the context of it's application.


Struggles

  • Visual puns, this assignment was a difficult task for me. Initially my lines were taking too much support from famous dialogues, then rhymes. Even after help from my tutor, I wasn't able to make any clever lines that could communicate quick and effectively. I figured it was because I had been conceptualizing the lines too much so I often missed the fun part.


  • Transformation, was the last of the assignment before we began with the final outcome. I had already been lacking behind due to puns, which left me with little time to work on this assignment. I think I should've been more efficient and progressed regardless of the struggle, that would give me time to work better on the execution of the ideas.



Reflection




Research

The city I chose to work with was my hometown, Meerut. I noticed a good factor; being brought up in the place had equipped me with a lot of personal narratives of it, but it also had a disadvantage. I had been nonchalant towards the research. But the reflection placed me on the right track.


  • I listed down all the keywords to compile aspects that I had covered and the ones I had missed, to ensure I cover all the aspects of the city.


  • With such a broad subject, I felt the mind map held me back from actually looking deep into each factor. So I created separate frames for each subject, which allowed me to collect all the information and build better connections.


  • As we progressed towards building concepts for our final outcome, I concluded my research and compiled the information that had intrigued me, and I wished to work on further.



Ideation

Using the understanding gained from the research, I developed these insights into ideas for my final outcome.

The idea that I took forward after the discussion with my tutor, was to highlight the bat-making skill of Meerut. I use the space to tell the story of their migration during Partition, to the craftsmen settling in Meerut making it the Sports City of India.


I had also thought about the idea where my mentor related the refugees to the people that run into the cricket field after a win, and I tried to use that to create an iteration. Though, the stadium in this visual contradicted with the idea of a travel poster, since there is no stadium in Meerut, and the whole composition takes the story away from the hardworking craftsmen to the glory of Cricket, which has failed to bring the bat-makers any acknowledgement.



Building a style

In the initial days of the project, we were asked to observe different posters and styles, and I had discovered Satyajit Ray's work, which carries a Bengali style of illustrations. I explored similar artworks, and collected the ones I want to take further. I observed the simplification of forms, the bright and subtle use of color and began sketching the visual references for my poster.



Color Explorations

Throughout the iterations, I decided to keep the refugees in monochrome, and the bat-maker more saturated to create a contrast of time and situation. I learned that it is important to keep in check the elements and their context when you decide a color for it. The map of Meerut and Sialkot being in blue on a map, made them seem like a lake, this was something my tutor had made me aware of and therefore, I gained a better sense of using colors.



Exploring type

To explore type in my composition, I was advised to sketch the different ways to figure out the alignment and structure that can work well.

  • I realized having the name of location in the bottom had become essential, since that is where the city's map is illustrated, it becomes easier for the viewer to associate it with the Title.

  • This left an empty space in the top right corner of the composition, which I decided to fill with a phrase, as I felt it would also balance the composition with both Illustration and type.



Travel Poster - Meerut


Reflection

I think the tutors' feedback helped me stay on track and enhanced my outcome. They ensured that I explore different ways and techniques taught to us during the project which made my ideas fruitful.


While I feel satisfied with the outcome, the awareness that the assignments created in me helps me notice areas of improvement. I think the space in the top right corner can still be utilized more effectively. It feels a little out of balance, with the composition being well explored and effective in the bottom unlike the top. This is something I will further like to iterate on.


Comments


bottom of page